Skip to:


The HIVE, our new visualization center built in partnership with the ICME and SAP, is nearly finished with construction.  

Congratulations to Pat Hanrahan for receiving his second Technical Achievement Academy Award, along with a third Oscar in the Scientific and Engineering category.

Together with two of his former PhD students, Matt Pharr, and Greg Humphreys, Pat is cited "for formalization and reference implementation of the concepts behind physically based rendering, as shared in their book Physically Based Rendering". 

PITTSBURGH—Stanford University's Pat Hanrahan and Cornell University's Doug L. James, computer scientists whose innovations in computer graphics have enhanced such movies as "Avatar," "Hugo," "The Dark Knight," "Finding Nemo" and "Star Trek," are each recipients this year of Katayanagi Prizes in Computer Science.

This year (FY 2012-2013), AHPCRC has launched its Distinguished Visiting Faculty Program. This outreach program aims at engaging rising research stars as well as world leaders in technical areas of importance to AHPCRC, and invite them to visit the Center for a period ranging from two weeks to six months.

Professor Charbel Farhat, AHPCRC Director, Vivian Church Hoff Professor of Aircraft Structures and Chair of the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Stanford University was elected as a fellow of the National Academy of Engineering.  This honor was conferred for his contributions to computing fluid-structure interactions and their applications in aeronautical, naval, and mechanical engineering.  The AHPCRC would like to congratulate Professor Farhat on this prestigious honor.